Content Workflow tutorial

Hello and thanks for your interest. In this tutorial, we will cover the new Content Workflow and how is it different from Amplifr you know and love.

  1. How do I enable Content Workflow?

    Settings - Users

    To enable Content Workflow for your project, you need to have at least one user with the “See and approve” role (let’s call this user our “client” for now).

  2. What post stages are there?

    You can create a new post using one of the “Drafts”, “New post” or “Posts” menu items. After the author proceeds with the “Request approve” button, the post moves to the “Discussions” page.

    If the author did not mark the post as a Draft when creating via the “New post” or “Posts” menu item, it goes straight to the approval stage.

    Content Workflow in Amplifr

    On the “Discussions” page, the client can only leave comments for the post, while post authors can comment and edit the post on the same screen. The history of post changes is visible in the comments section. Once the client chooses to “Approve” the post, it becomes available on the Posts page.

    For any post that is scheduled (visible at the “Posts” page), the client can choose to return it to the discussion and postpone the publication: the post should be reviewed and approved before it gets scheduled for release again.

  3. What are the Workflow user roles? What's the difference?

    • The project owner,
    • Publishing and Analytics (we will call those users “editors”),
    • See and approve (we will call those users “clients”).

    The project owner is still the administrator of the account — he can manage project settings, users, and billing. When it comes to Content Workflow, he has the same access rights as the editor.

    The project owner can:

    • enable and disable the “Content Workflow” product,
    • manage users and their roles,
    • anything else the editor can do.

    The editor can:

    • create post drafts,
    • send posts to approval, change their scheduled publication time or return them to drafts,
    • take a part in post discussions,
    • receive notifications if a post has been returned to the discussion,
    • view scheduled posts.

    The client:

    • cannot see post drafts,
    • can take part in post discussions,
    • can approve a post,
    • can return a previously scheduled, but not yet published post to the discussion.
  4. How do I know if there are any new posts in my Workflow?

    • if a post that is due in the next 24 hours gets created, every client receives an email notification.
    • if a post that is due in the next 24 hours gets moved back to the discussion, editors and account owners will get an email notification.

    We are working on a Settings page for Workflow email notifications — please stay tuned!

  5. How do I get to hear about new comments posted in my Workflow?

    At the moment, you can just visit the Workflow page or refresh it in your browser. We will have email notifications working real soon — please stay tuned.

  6. What if I want to convert an existing project to use the new Content Workflow?

    What will happen is that the project owner and project editors will lose the ability to schedule posts all by themselves. Instead, only the posts that were approved by the client will make the schedule.

    To figure out if you like the new Content Workflow, you can create a test project to play around. Just contact our support with the project name — we will enable the Content Workflow for that project and make sure that we will not charge you for that project for the time being.

    If you are sure that the Content Workflow product is not something that matches your particular workflow, just contact us, and we will disable it for your project.